Collecting Norton
A message for Norton collector’s around the world.

Don’t ever give up!

I have been collecting books by Andre Norton for 40 years now.  I started while very much on a budget and only collected paperbacks for reading purposes. Then I started trying to get a copy of each in good or very good condition. I then discovered they came with different cover art and was bitten by the collecting bug. Keeping track of what I had, was the easy part, keeping track of what I didn’t have was the tricky part. Identifying what I didn’t have eventually led to the website, which then put me in contact with fellow collectors who helped me start collecting hardbacks.

20 years ago I identified 21 hardcover books released by Gregg Press and I started trying to find them. They are limited editions which were distributed to mostly libraries. Today a non-ex-library copy of any of the titles can run on the average around $150 or more. I’ve seen the seven “Witch World” novels (as a set) go for over $1000. If you want them signed you should take out a loan at the bank.

I purchased my first Gregg Press edition 19 years ago. That was a library edition of “Sorceress of the Witch World”. Through buying, selling and trading over the past 19 years I have finally completed the 21 book set of first editions. While purchased as individuals (the collection is made of 4 different sets) it’s very hard to see that they weren’t sets to start. You don’t have to spend a real fortune, you just have to be very patient and always on the hunt. I paid around $30 for each edition, that’s cheap if you look at the average cost of any first edition Norton. I have only purchased one book “The Sioux Spaceman” for over $50 because I really wanted it and its very rare (UK edition by Hale). I now have over 1500 Norton books and other Items pertaining to Andre Norton.