Tarzan books racist and sexist?
Are they considered racist, sexist or ignorant?
Don't insult the precious, my precious!:book:
I'm not a Tarzan expert but I do believe those books have been subjected to withering criticism for the stereotypes they utilize.
Burroughs was born in 1875 and wrote for an audience in the early 1900s.
He died in 1950.

What exactly do you expect?
Vorlons are Vulcans on Zen
Yeah, if you're looking to be offended by something, they are reflective of their era and genre. That said, as a little white child in the segregated south of the 1960's, it was almost entirely the depiction of friendly and intelligent African people in Tarzan and Daktari and H. Rider Haggard comics and episodes that made me realize that the society around me was suspect.
August  - Jack's Pack Fan # 1, Keeper of the List, 3-Time Speaker of the JoAT Fan Quote of the Week, and the only person ever to have Back 2 Back Jack and Cleo fan quotes !
And probably the movies of the 1930s and 1940s contributed more to the bad stereotypes than other portions of the Tarzan franchise. I used to read the comic books when I was a kid. As I recall, they weren't filled with overt racist stereotypes. Nor have I seen any modern criticisms of them. I don't know if they are considered racist.
There is much colonialism in the books, which I would guess is a sore point these days. It probably doesn't matter that Burroughs had villains and nobles in every race to those upset by the ranking of societies.
I think ERB's books were simply part of the rising (or risen) tide and they will be critcized, perhaps even condemned, for being part of an era that is filled with shameful acts of oppression. I don't believe he supported that oppression.

John Carter freed many Martian slaves in the stories. I'm not sure that counts as a political dig at slavery by ERB - but he certainly felt it was a situation that could be villainized in his fiction.