Unfinished Tolkien work to be published in '07
http://www.cnn.com/2006/SHOWBIZ/books/09...index.html

NEW YORK (AP) -- An unfinished tale by J.R.R. Tolkien has been edited by his son into a completed work and will be released next spring, the U.S. and British publishers announced Monday.

Christopher Tolkien has spent the past 30 years working on "The Children of Hurin," an epic tale his father began in 1918 and later abandoned. Excerpts of "The Children of Hurin," which includes the elves and dwarves of Tolkien's "The Lord of the Rings" and other works, have been published before.
You beat me to it. Smile

This is something I've been hoping to see for 29 years myself. It will be interesting to see what editorial decisions Christopher Tolkien has made.
Me, too. I hope the results are happier than "The Fall of Doriath."

Angel
"What song the Sirens sang, or what name Achilles assumed when he hid himself among women, though puzzling questions are not beyond conjecture." - Sir Thomas Browne, Religio Medici
I suspect that CT will pick the best/his favorite/most harmonious with the rest of the Canon, and fill in with bits of his own, but, who knows? All we can do is hope for the best. Wink
"What song the Sirens sang, or what name Achilles assumed when he hid himself among women, though puzzling questions are not beyond conjecture." - Sir Thomas Browne, Religio Medici
I don't have anything to add to this thread as far as news, but I would like to say that, when I read the news that CT was going to publish a 'new' book, I immediately thought "Well, I'll know whether this is true or a hoax the next time I go check in."

And, as if I need to say it, I was right.
"Never ask an Elf for advice, for he will say both 'Yes' and 'No'." - Frodo Baggins to Gildor Inglorion
Attalus Wrote:I suspect that CT will pick the best/his favorite/most harmonious with the rest of the Canon, and fill in with bits of his own, but, who knows? All we can do is hope for the best. Wink